Installing Knytt Underground on Ubuntu

• 7 Replies

Offline mentis

• View Profile
Installing Knytt Underground on Ubuntu
« on: January 16, 2014, 07:50:43 »
Hey everybody, I'm fairly new to linux and started using Ubuntu 13.10 recently. I've been trying to find install instructions for Knytt Underground but haven't had much luck.

Next I tried following install instructions for installing a tar.gz from here: http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/compile-install-tar-gz-tar-bz2-files-ubuntu-linux/

I used the following commands:

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install build-essential checkinstall
sudo apt-get install subversion git-core mercurial
sudo chown $USER /usr/local/src
sudo chmod u+rwx /usr/local/src
sudo apt-get install apt-file
sudo apt-file update
cd /usr/local/src
tar -xzvf <filename>.tar.gz
tar -xjvf <filename>.tar.bz2
cd /usr/local/src/<extracted folder>

But when I got to using "./configure" I wasn't able to proceed, says there no such file or directory. Seems like this procedure makes changes that I'm not so sure about so hopefully I didn't mess things up... any help would be appreciated!

Offline LPChip

• You can only truly help other people by allowing them to fail.
  • Excel at the thing you're the best at!
    • View Profile
    • LPChip Interactive
Re: Installing Knytt Underground on Ubuntu
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 14:44:24 »
I'm not an expert in linux, but if you type su from the terminal and log in, all next commands are executed as if you put sudo in front of it and type the password each time.

As for problems with installing it, only thing I can think of is that there's a rights matter. Is /usr/local your home directory? Cus you should install it to your homedirectory.
on the left, above my avatar.

MODPlug Central Forum
"If I tried to kill you, I'd end up with a big fat hole through my laptop." - Chironex

Offline mentis

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2014, 20:31:05 »